Must have makeup setters!

Hey everyone,

Today’s post is well overdue & covers a very important aspect of makeup application: SETTING. There’s nothing worse (figuratively) then slaying your makeup for it to slide down your face 4 hours later when the temperature climbs & the sweat creeps in. That is where an A+ setting product is vital & today I have to products I want to talk about. Firstly, I think it is important to note that I have a fairly combination skin type, I’d by no means say I have oily skin but after a long day of makeup wear I can see a touch of shine. So now for the products & I’ll stop rambling.

When I was younger & going clubbing a lot I would always set my makeup with a powder foundation atop the liquid foundation I used. As I got older I stopped doing this & embraced the dewy finish of my foundation, using a setting spray to stop it sliding around throughout the day. I’ve used a variety of setting sprays throughout the years & I will always love the Urban Decay All-Nighter setting spray but recently I purchased the NYX Matte Finish Setting Spray & can I saw WOW! This setting spray 100% matte’s out my foundation & stops all shin from creeping through whilst also holding everything in place all day. Additionally, the application is flawless, the liquid is dispersed gentle & you do not get left with any large deposits of fluid on your foundation. To top it all off this setting spray is only $10 which compared to many others on the market is fantastically cheap.

The second product I want to talk about is the OFRA Oil Control Pressed Powder, this product is at the higher end of the price range coming in at $52 on the OFRA website. I received mine in last months BoxyCharm & I could not be happier, as I said previously I used to be a fan of setting my foundation with a powder foundation & moved from that into setting sprays. I have now found the ideal middle ground where I can set my frustrating T’Zone (the only area on my face & many others which gets shiny) with this pressed powder, I use a Real Techniques Multi-Task brush to pat the product over my foundation lightly. I had forgotten how good a powder can be to set your makeup & the OFRA powder is perfect because it doesn’t alter the colour of your foundation or concealer, it is also great for setting your under eye concealer.

IMG_5621

Essentially I think this combination is super & if you are on a budget the NYX setting spray is almost as good entirely on its own. I hope you all enjoyed this quick post & if there is anything else you would like me to write about please leave me a comment below!

Freckled.Rambles xx.

Leave a Reply

